Judas

 

Judas

(Narrative Fiction)

"Vitrail_Cathédrale_de_Moulins_160609_59" Wikipedia Image [Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jesus_predicts_his_betrayal]

“Vitrail_Cathédrale_de_Moulins_160609_59”
Wikipedia Image [Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jesus_predicts_his_betrayal%5D

Yes, I handle money well. I don’t know – everytime i see one, i just can’t help but listen to her sweet voice. She calls me by name. She sings so beautifully like the melody sang by mother when i was yet a munchkin. Familiar. Good. Beautiful. All i ever wanted in this world is to have more of “it” because i know, the more i have money, the more i know who i really am. Yeah – my name is Iscariot. Judas Iscariot.

 

Father said that the name is taken from the root ‘Judah’ meaning “praise”. Nah – i don’t really mind it. Well, one time, when that famous, praised Rabbi – Jesus – passed by, he called me. Told me to follow him. Follow him? I’m on my way to star myself to a million bucks. You know, make more money. I don’t think this guy’s rich. But, who knows? He’s becoming a superstar! And that means – more followers, more money. Every head counts. So if you ask me if i’ll follow Jesus or make more money – i’ll choose both.

 

Jesus assembled men and formed a pack of his own. And Lady Luck’s on my side – guess what’s my role to play?

 

It’s quite a famous saying, and i quote: “Follow you heart. You’ll never be wrong.” Well, i follow with all my heart. But Jesus doesn’t have money! But he’s as happy as heaven! I feel hell by the way! Oh my! One time, he fed more than five thousands with only a meager capital – it’s not even ours to begin with! – without asking for any contributions! IMagine if he could’ve just sold each bread, even if it’s 80% discount, that’s even less the purchasing power of the poor. Then count the paybacks! The R.O.I’s could’ve skyrocketed us to “do more” ministries – for God’s sake! (And Peter and his fishy friends will not break a muscle or two to net some seafoods) And one time, a disgrace – a woman – wasted an “expensive perfume” and poured it to the careless Rabbi! She could’ve sold that and the money – all for charity! Oh, my blood pressure is high! People are not using “wisely” anymore! What is happening to the world? People will kill for money. Don’t they know the silver rule? That “the lack of money is the root of all evil”?

 

Following Jesus or money? You can always choose both.

 

Remember this night. After wearing ourselves out for a stroll through the mudtracks of Israel, Jesus brought us to the Upper Room, got a basin full of clean water, wrapped a towel around his waist – and imagine what happened next. He cleaned the other disciples’ dirty, dirty feet with his… hands. Ridiculous! This is the lowest of the lowest! Job for the slave of slaves! If this be it, i don’t think the rumors of Jesus being the “king of kings” were true. Well, just a thought – he could’ve used what he is doing now to service the rich folks – with pay of course! Just a thought i say. And then, it happened. He went to me. I was standing my tallest, and he was stooping down – his lowest. He soon unwraps my sandals and got my dirty, stinky feet – and bathed them. Oh my, Jesus… if only…

 

Oh, everyone seems so melodramatic about the events that occurred. I’m a bit disgusted. After supper, i went out for a little stroll. SOmething pricked me on the inside. It’s as if something tickled me in my heart: Judas, Judas, follow your heart. Soon, i found my self in front of the Pharisees and the chief priests – they offered me money! It was not just money you know – it’s emperor silver! 30 pieces! What’s my part on the X-Deal? Point them Jesus. Easy. A deep space opened inside of me however. This time, I could not run away from playing safe anymore. I now have to live up to my name. This time, i have to choose. I have to follow where my heart is. Jesus or money?

 

I know, deep down inside of me screams that i could never, ever choose both.

 

What would you choose if you were me? Me? I choose whatever my heart truly “praises”. Well, i have to follow my heart. I’ll never be wrong, right?

 

 

 

_________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment